The quiet welcoming ambience of The Great House is quite exceptional. Dining, as always, lived up to our high expectations. The whole evening was a delight and one we intend to repeat very soon. We cannot recommend The Great House too highly.
Brian and Heather Massey, Barn Cottage, August 2014

 

We have been coming here since Regis and Martine took over The Great House 29 years ago. They consistently provide imaginative cooking of the highest quality I expect and friendly service in a lovely setting. Mrs L Archibald and Miss J Kelley, London & Brettenham June 2014

 

We’ve had a really good stay, very comfortable room and the food – Ah! What can one say? memorable, inspired, precision cooking. The restaurant staff are excellent, well trained and knowledgeable. A little taste of France in Suffolk. Thank you.Stephanie & Geoffrey, Burton on Trent, The Grand Room, April 2014

 

Wow! Thank you so much for a truly amazing stay at The Great House. Room was gorgeous, staff were wonderful and food was exquisite – what more could you ask for ! We will see you again in the Summer. Laura & Daniel, Essex – The Loft room, February 2014

 

Lovely room, fabulous food, exemplary service – Thank you. We will return. I’m sure. Nicole & Edward, Thames Ditton, Surrey, The Loft room, February 2014

 

We are here celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. We only live up the road but having travelled the globe we are quite convinced The Great House is our favourite restaurant in the whole wide world! Nick and Anthea, Edwardstone – Four Poster, December 2013

 

We have been coming to the restaurant for many years and have been impressed by the delicious food, excellent service, friendly owner and team. We have often wondered what it would be like to stay at the hotel. So …. even though we only live 1 hour’s drive away, we decided to book. What a joy! We have both travelled extensively and are known to have high expectations. All our expectations have been more then met here. Regis and his team really know the meaning of hospitality. On the practical side every need is catered for in bedroom and bathroom. They are stylish, comfortable and spotlessly clean. In the restaurant, the service is exemplary, the food superb and the ambience delightful. Not only will we be eating here on a regular basis ‘comme d’habitude’ but certainly intend to stay here as well. Thank you for making our November a bit more bearable!
Christine & Max, Saffron Walden  - The Grand Room,  November 2012

 

What a wonderful place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. This was our first visit and will probably have to make it ‘our place’. See you next year Great House! And Thank you.
Carol  &  Sheldon – Four Poster,  June 2013

 

Beatiful room in a beautiful village. Stayed over for a local wedding. Will have to come back again to eat in the restaurant, having read the reviews written in this book! Having grown up in Suffolk, feel very bad for not having discovered Lavenham before. Just time for a quick stroll around before setting off..
Katie & Chris, Nottingham – Four Poster,  August 2013

 

What an absolutely wonderful hotel! Thank you so much for looking after us so well – from dinner on Sat night to the scrumptious breakfasts & little touches that made us special. And the town itself was such a novelty & so fascinating with all its wonkiness & history! You are so lucky to live here! We wish we could stay… Merci beaucoup!
Jen & Steve, Queensland, Australia – Tudor Room, May 2013

 

A fantastic find. We have been travelling upto Suffolk for over 10 years and have simply missed the Great House, but not any more. Excellent food, room and attentative staff. We shall be returning soon.
Jacqueline & Alan, Wiltshire – Tudor Room, 2013

 

Well another year has passed and we are back again. Our 16th year to celebrate our Birthdays. Marg + Alb are in Room 2. This year Alb is celebrating a massive Birthday – 80! The lunch in the courtyard was as fantastic as always. Celine + Thierry are just as attentive as smiley as always. We love this room (1). We live on the South Coast and the 3 and an half hour journey is worth it. We look forward to coming to ‘The Great House’ every year and long may it last! A big thank you to Regis and all his staff. We love it here.
Debbie & Mike, Milford-on- Sea, Hampshire – Every year in August!

 

We came here in October 2006 to celebrate my 60th birthday and we had a wonderful time and we all decided to return again this year. All the staff ensures that we have a great time. The rooms are excellent and we all love the new decor. We have decided as a family to return every October half term as we all enjoy ourselves so much, children & adults. A big thanks you to all the staff because without their hard work it would not have been so good.  The Taylors (room 1) and the Cadogans (room 2).

It is not my birthday; it’s not our wedding anniversary; we haven’t reunited with old friends after 50 years apart; and this wasn’t a gift from our adoring children. In fact we have no excuse whatsoever for being here.  None needed. With a room like this and a cheese board like that, what’s not to like?
Neil & Cathy Truelove, Clifton, Bedfordshire

 

Wow, what an awesome stay we had. This little room (5) is just perfect for a romantic getaway. WE had a awesome time and would not pick any other room above this one! Enjoyed the coffee machine, sherry decanter, music system and the lovely bath… We will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.
Lots of thanks! Lewis & Jolette.

 

We have had 2 fabulous nights at The Great House, from the moment that we stepped across the front door, it has been truly magical. We married on Monday and it has been a complete fairy tale. Since then and staying here has been the perfect ending to our week. We wouldn’t change a thing. The people, food, room, atmosphere, amazing! Thank you for everything.
Sharon & Rob Parkinson, Dereham, Norfolk.

 

The Great House certainly lived up to our expectations. Fabulous room and the food was exceptional. Our first visit but definitely not our last! Christine & Michael Bloom, Hertfordshire.

A relaxing break to celebrate a birthday in an especially delightful room. Welcoming & friendly staff added to the experience for the superb cuisine. An enjoyable taste of France en Angleterre. Thank you so much, we look forward to our next visit.
The Cades, Dunmow, Essex.