Our fist stay here after a fantastic lunch a year or so ago. We have wanted to come back to stay ever since. Finally we made it! Everything exceeded our high expectations. Pretty and cosy room, a fabulous dinner plus a memorable Margaux cru Bourgeois,  one of our best ever, a superb breakfast and charming staff!! We hope to be back soon John and Ann October 2016

The Great House is a wonderful restaurant with a number of very special comfortable rooms. I highly recommend the well though-out beautifully presented gourmet food. A holiday to be savoured and not easily forgotten.  Mrs Merklinger, September 2016

I cannot think of another hotel where everything is perfect, from the reception to the most comfortable and well decorated room to the fabulous food and the kindness of hosts and staff. Bravo! Mrs S Baxter, September 2016

Chers Madame et Monsieur Crepy, I wanted to write and thank you so much for making my recent stay with you so pleasurable.  I had the most wonderful four days in Lavenham, made extra special by your hospitality. I was enchanted by my room, where there was absolutely everything I needed, including the most comfortable bed and linens, a gorgeous bathroom complete with softened water, an  Nespresso coffee machine and bottles of mineral water. I was informed that your restaurant was the best in East Anglia and I can only agree unreservedly.  I experienced two wonderful dinners in your courtyard, with every attention to detail, including informed direction in choosing the correct cheese to complete the meal.  Breakfast each morning was a delight; delicious coffee and mini croissants, accompanied by your superb fresh fruit salad, was the start to my day.
Your staff are absolutely exemplary and made my stay unforgettable – your wonderful manager M. Thierry Penneck, who greeted me every evening when I returned to The Great House and remembered that I liked to take two bottles of water to my room, your charming restaurant staff, who made every meal not only a pleasure also an occasion – including changing the gas cylinder in the burner next to my table whilst having dinner with my cousins, immediately when it ran out, your sweet waitress laying my table for breakfast in the courtyard on my last morning and your lovely housekeeper, who made my room immaculate for my return each day.
I was truly sorry to leave and am already making plans for my return.
With my sincere thanks, Mrs W, September 2016. 

My first stay at The Great House and I hope will be the first of many. Apart from Lavenham being so beautiful with a fascinating and interesting history, everything about The Great House is of the highest standard. Perfection to details, the room fittings, bathroom, ‘little extras’. As for the food … Superb and best of all the kindness and friendliness of staff. A most delightful stay. Thank you. Mrs S Cook, August 2016

What a fab place. This has been our 25th Sunday lunch with our good friends M,A,G and M. The food is always superb and the cheese board is the best ever. We always stay on the Sunday night in Room 1 (Four Poster). We always have a great night sleep and don’t want to get up in the morning…. but we would miss the fab breakfasts if we didn’t. We love The Great House! It is one of our highlights as it is our birthday present to ourselves. Thank you. Debbie & Mike, August 2016

Vaut le Voyage! David & Lisa, August 2016

Yet again, we have had the most wonderful time. So well looked after and the food to die for! Back in October and we will continue coming. Susie & Patrick, July 2016

A fabulous stay in a delightful location. Truly wonderful ambiance with superb food and service second to none. Not our first visit and certainly will not be our last! Angela & Ken, July 2016

A perfect gem, want to tell the world but want to keep it secret at the same time! Thank you for a great Birthday treat! Peter & Helena, Cambridge June 2016

OMG! We have to write something different to the many glowing wonderful reviews! However, after careful consideration we feel compelled to write further lovely compliments. So room splendid, breakfast faultless and The Great House’s attention to detail has touched us deeply. As we can’t live here we will return for more easy relaxed luxury another day. John & Louise, London May 2016

Visited Lavenham for ten years on and off including 4 stays in the Great House. Lovely room, great food, fantastic staff! Hope we make it again sooner. Lovely to see you again.  The Four Poster Bedroom – Mr & Mrs McCartney May 2016

From both TripAdvisor reviews and reviews in respected local magazines I expected a lot from this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Great food, Great service, Great Ambience.  If I had one little wish I had hoped for a more extensive menu but don’t let that deter from all the above it was simply excellent.
Well done The Great House….you were indeed great. Stayed April 2016 – GA, Essex

Thank you for making our visit to The Great House a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. Your hospitality has been superb and greatly appreciated. Your staff are very polite and willing to help all the time. Thank you. John & Wendy Travis – March 2016

I just had to put in writing how impressed we were with your amazing hotel, restaurant & of course staff. Our stay was for want of a better word, “perfect”. We very much look forward to frequenting your beautiful establishment again, hopefully in the not too distant future. I do hope this e-mail was as pleasant to read as it was to write. Many thanks, Mr S & Ms C – December 2015

Both Jo and I had a lovely stay with you at the Great House Hotel. The decor in both the hotel and rooms is subtle and warm and the size of the room for friends sharing was just right. We had a lovely meal in the evening and it was great to be able to sit a chat without a sense of rushing, so thank you for adding to the sense of a relaxed weekend. We thought the most important thing to mention were that truly lovely staff, from opening the door to leaving. They are a credit to you and the hotel and made our stay extra special, so please pass on our thanks.
Jennifer H – November 2015

I last stayed here some 27 years ago. The same comfortable charm and excellent service have endured – no mean feat when so many have gone to the wall or worse over the years. Well done for being and continuing to be so special. One could recommend The Great House with confidence to anyone anywhere in the world.
Jeremy & Carolyn – October 2015

Delightful in every way. Superb cuisine. Excellent service. Beautiful building with delightful bedrooms. Very quiet location overlooking Market Square of Lavenham. Highly recommended.
Mike & Sue , The Attic room – 30th September 2015

Beautifully appointed room, with lovely furnishings and harmonious decor. Great attention to detail. Quiet and peaceful, with delightful views over the Market Square. Restaurant is equally impressive. The food is imaginatively prepared and the service impeccable. All the staff are exceedingly pleasant, cheerful and helpful. This is truly France in Lavenham.
Anthony & Marie , Sandhurst, Room 2 – 28th August 2015


Good Afternoon,
Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend at your Hotel and just wanted to send this email to thank you all for making our stay so perfect and memorable. We had the most wonderful time in a truly idyllic place and your warmth and friendliness only made it harder for us to leave. We have great memories of a very exquisite dinner on Saturday night and a special thank you to our great waiter for guiding me through the heavenly cheese selection. In fact every part of our meal was perfect in every way. Wishing you all the very best for the rest of the summer and we definitely hope to return very soon.
Kind regards
Jacqui  & John , Room 2 – 17th to 19th July 2015


Just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely dinner!
The food was fabulous and the service wonderful.
We are very glad that we chose you to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary.
We look forward to coming again!
Kindest regards and best wishes for the business,
Izzy xx 14th July 2015


From the moment we stepped through your door every aspect of the occasion was faultless: the welcome, service, the elements of the cuisine (beautifully prepared, cooked and presented). With 30 years experience you could say that you would have the know-how to achieve that, but it is more than that I know – a constant meticulous attention to detail with the aim of offering something special to your customers. So, may I offer you all our thanks and congratulations. Our evening was a ‘thank you ‘ to my wife, so I was especially delighted that you made it something beyond our (by now) high expectations! C R-S, May 2015


We have eaten here several times at, in our opinion, the best restaurant in Suffolk – a sentiment shared by many friends. So many pleasant surprised such as the nice touch of complimentary sherry – nice sherry as well. Thank you for a lovely stay. A really enjoyable way of celebrating our 50 years of married life. Sue & Anthony Hawkes, March 2015


The Great House was recommended by several friends but this was our fist visit. From the first warm friendly welcome, to the wonderful attentive service in the restaurant, the staff certainly make this a truly ‘Great House’. We loved our room, very cosy and peaceful. We also visited room 2 to compare, but preferred our room. We will definitely come again, hopefully with more friends.
Mike & Jenny Thomas, February 2015


Stayed in all of the hotels in Lavenham but had never stayed at The Great House. Wow what a simply amazing place! Food, hospitality, quality of everything were simply second to none. A very relaxing 2 day break. Thank you all so very much. We shall definably return.
The Browns, Norfolk, February 2015


Our first 100th Birthday celebration!
Dear Martine, Regis, Celine and Thierry – I don’t know how I can ever thank you enough for making my 100th Birthday so memorable for me, my family and friends. The dinner was superb – so very delicious and enjoyed enormously by me and all the guests. The service, too was outstanding and The Great House atmosphere was lovely. I could not have celebrated my 100th birthday anywhere else in the world. many thanks from a very grateful Phyl. Mrs Phyl Urch, 16th December 2014


We love going to The Great House whenever we have a special family occasion. The place is a delight; the food, wine and service are always exceptional. Friendly, attentive staff know how to make you welcome and to serve you up something fresh, seasonal and delicious. This is a French experience at its best. Not wildly expensive, either, for fine dining. when we stayed with you last Wednesday. Your dinner in the evening was a real treat. The wine list was very comprehensive, and we were made to feel very welcome. Mr Wybrow, October 2014


Many thanks for the great experience we had at The Great House when we stayed with you last Wednesday. Your dinner in the evening was a real treat. The wine list was very comprehensive, and we were made to feel very welcome. Many thanks for all your hard work.
Peter & Jane Coates, Norfolk, October 2014


The quiet welcoming ambience of The Great House is quite exceptional. Dining, as always, lived up to our high expectations. The whole evening was a delight and one we intend to repeat very soon. We cannot recommend The Great House too highly.
Brian and Heather Massey, Barn Cottage, August 2014


We have been coming here since Regis and Martine took over The Great House 29 years ago. They consistently provide imaginative cooking of the highest quality I expect and friendly service in a lovely setting. Mrs L Archibald and Miss J Kelley, London & Brettenham June 2014


We’ve had a really good stay, very comfortable room and the food – Ah! What can one say? memorable, inspired, precision cooking. The restaurant staff are excellent, well trained and knowledgeable. A little taste of France in Suffolk. Thank you.Stephanie & Geoffrey, Burton on Trent, The Grand Room, April 2014


Wow! Thank you so much for a truly amazing stay at The Great House. Room was gorgeous, staff were wonderful and food was exquisite – what more could you ask for ! We will see you again in the Summer. Laura & Daniel, Essex – The Loft room, February 2014


Lovely room, fabulous food, exemplary service – Thank you. We will return. I’m sure. Nicole & Edward, Thames Ditton, Surrey, The Loft room, February 2014


We are here celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. We only live up the road but having travelled the globe we are quite convinced The Great House is our favourite restaurant in the whole wide world! Nick and Anthea, Edwardstone – Four Poster, December 2013


We have been coming to the restaurant for many years and have been impressed by the delicious food, excellent service, friendly owner and team. We have often wondered what it would be like to stay at the hotel. So …. even though we only live 1 hour’s drive away, we decided to book. What a joy! We have both travelled extensively and are known to have high expectations. All our expectations have been more then met here. Regis and his team really know the meaning of hospitality. On the practical side every need is catered for in bedroom and bathroom. They are stylish, comfortable and spotlessly clean. In the restaurant, the service is exemplary, the food superb and the ambience delightful. Not only will we be eating here on a regular basis ‘comme d’habitude’ but certainly intend to stay here as well. Thank you for making our November a bit more bearable!
Christine & Max, Saffron Walden  – The Grand Room,  November 2012


What a wonderful place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. This was our first visit and will probably have to make it ‘our place’. See you next year Great House! And Thank you.
Carol  &  Sheldon – Four Poster,  June 2013


Beatiful room in a beautiful village. Stayed over for a local wedding. Will have to come back again to eat in the restaurant, having read the reviews written in this book! Having grown up in Suffolk, feel very bad for not having discovered Lavenham before. Just time for a quick stroll around before setting off..
Katie & Chris, Nottingham – Four Poster,  August 2013


What an absolutely wonderful hotel! Thank you so much for looking after us so well – from dinner on Sat night to the scrumptious breakfasts & little touches that made us special. And the town itself was such a novelty & so fascinating with all its wonkiness & history! You are so lucky to live here! We wish we could stay… Merci beaucoup!
Jen & Steve, Queensland, Australia – Tudor Room, May 2013


A fantastic find. We have been travelling upto Suffolk for over 10 years and have simply missed the Great House, but not any more. Excellent food, room and attentative staff. We shall be returning soon.
Jacqueline & Alan, Wiltshire – Tudor Room, 2013


Well another year has passed and we are back again. Our 16th year to celebrate our Birthdays. Marg + Alb are in Room 2. This year Alb is celebrating a massive Birthday – 80! The lunch in the courtyard was as fantastic as always. Celine + Thierry are just as attentive as smiley as always. We love this room (1). We live on the South Coast and the 3 and an half hour journey is worth it. We look forward to coming to ‘The Great House’ every year and long may it last! A big thank you to Regis and all his staff. We love it here.
Debbie & Mike, Milford-on- Sea, Hampshire – Every year in August!


We came here in October 2006 to celebrate my 60th birthday and we had a wonderful time and we all decided to return again this year. All the staff ensures that we have a great time. The rooms are excellent and we all love the new decor. We have decided as a family to return every October half term as we all enjoy ourselves so much, children & adults. A big thanks you to all the staff because without their hard work it would not have been so good.  The Taylors (room 1) and the Cadogans (room 2).

It is not my birthday; it’s not our wedding anniversary; we haven’t reunited with old friends after 50 years apart; and this wasn’t a gift from our adoring children. In fact we have no excuse whatsoever for being here.  None needed. With a room like this and a cheese board like that, what’s not to like?
Neil & Cathy Truelove, Clifton, Bedfordshire


Wow, what an awesome stay we had. This little room (5) is just perfect for a romantic getaway. WE had a awesome time and would not pick any other room above this one! Enjoyed the coffee machine, sherry decanter, music system and the lovely bath… We will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.
Lots of thanks! Lewis & Jolette.


We have had 2 fabulous nights at The Great House, from the moment that we stepped across the front door, it has been truly magical. We married on Monday and it has been a complete fairy tale. Since then and staying here has been the perfect ending to our week. We wouldn’t change a thing. The people, food, room, atmosphere, amazing! Thank you for everything.
Sharon & Rob Parkinson, Dereham, Norfolk.


The Great House certainly lived up to our expectations. Fabulous room and the food was exceptional. Our first visit but definitely not our last! Christine & Michael Bloom, Hertfordshire.

A relaxing break to celebrate a birthday in an especially delightful room. Welcoming & friendly staff added to the experience for the superb cuisine. An enjoyable taste of France en Angleterre. Thank you so much, we look forward to our next visit.
The Cades, Dunmow, Essex.